Saturday, Feb 29th 2020
Trending News

Telangana Elections 2018 updates: Polling ends in Naxal-hit constituencies

By Desk FnF | PUBLISHED: 07, Dec 2018, 17:53 pm IST | UPDATED: 07, Dec 2018, 17:54 pm IST

Telangana Elections 2018 updates: Polling ends in Naxal-hit constituencies Desk FnF Rajasthan and Telangana are voting today in the last of state elections before the December 11 results, seen as a big test for political parties as they gear up for next year's national polls. For the BJP, the important battle is in Rajasthan, where it hopes to buck the two-decade trend of the incumbent losing power. In Telangana, Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao is facing the Congress and N Chandrababu Naidu - political rivals who have come together for the first time. A victory for the alliance will boost the opposition ahead of the national elections. The counting of votes will take place on December 11, along with that of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.

A turnout of 59.43 per cent was recorded till 3 pm in Rajasthan. In Telangana, the corresponding figure was 56.17 per cent, news agency ANI reported. The overall turnout in Rajasthan last time was 75.5 per cent, in Telangana it was 41.5 per cent. There were reports of voting machine malfunctioning in parts of Rajasthan.

Rajasthan has swung between the BJP and the Congress in the five elections since 1993. But the Congress, which won only 21 assembly seats in 2013 against the BJP's 161, would need an 8 per cent swing in its favour to win The Election

Vasundhara Raje has been challenged by Manvendra Singh, son of senior BJP leader Jaswant Singh, in Jhalrapatan, the constituency she has represented since 2003. Manvendra Singh switched to the Congress just before the elections.

Tonk, with a sizeable Muslim population, is a keenly-watched contest between Sachin Pilot of the Congress and transport minister Yoonus Khan, the BJP's only Muslim face in the elections. Mr Pilot, who is contesting his maiden asembly election, is seen as a frontrunner for the top job if the Congress wins

In Telangana, caretaker chief minister K Chandrashekar Rao had advanced elections to its 119 member assembly by eight months.

While KCR's party won 63 seats last time against the 21 seats of Congress and 15 of Chandrababu Naidu's Telugu Desam Party, data from the last election shows a 2 per cent vote swing may change the outcome of the election. Mr Rao had a good equation with Asaduddin Owaisi's AIMIM, which won 7 seats in the last election.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, one of the star campaigners of the BJP, has said that if the party is voted to power, state capital Hyderabad will be renamed "Bhagyanagar" ". the BJP  conducted  a high-decibel campaign in the state where it is trying to get a foothold.

A victory for the Congress-TDP alliance will place Mr Naidu - who has taken on the job of facilitating an opposition alliance ahead of national elections - at the forefront of the opposition politics. Mr Naidu is contesting only 13 seats and said in case of a victory, the top job will go to the Congress, which is contesting the rest. The Congress has not announced a chief ministerial candidate.

You Might also Like