Monday, Jan 20th 2020
Trending News

Karnataka: Designate Yeddyurappa Changes Name To 'Yediyurappa'

By FnF Correspondent | PUBLISHED: 26, Jul 2019, 16:36 pm IST | UPDATED: 26, Jul 2019, 16:38 pm IST

Karnataka: Designate Yeddyurappa Changes Name To 'Yediyurappa' BENGALURU: Karnataka BJP president and three-time chief minister BS Yeddyurappa has changed his name back to Yediyurappa, with slight changes in spelling, in the letter he had sent to the Governor Vajubhai Vala. All set to take oath as chief minister at 6 PM, BSY reportedly changed his name on the advice of numerologists. It was in 2007 that the BJP leader started writing his name as BS Yeddyurappa.

In a sudden development, Yediyurappa met Governor Vajubhai Vala to stake the claim and requested him to administer the oath of office and secrecy Friday itself, following which Vala invited him to form the government.

"I have requested Governor to administer me oath between 6-6:15 p.m as the Chief Minister. The Governor has agreed and given me a letter," Yediyurappa told reporters after meeting Vala at Raj Bhavan.

He said, "who all are to be inducted (in the ministry), I will discuss it with our national president and inform."

Yediyurappa said as he is already Leader of the Opposition, there is no need to call a Legislature Party meeting to elect him the leader.

This will be the fourth stint for Yediyurappa as the Chief Minister-- the last one was after the May 2018 Assembly polls.

He had to resign just three days after being sworn in, unable to muster majority after staking claim to form the government on the grounds that his party had emerged as the single largest one with 104 seats in the 225-member Assembly.

Inviting MLAs of all political parties for the swearing in, Yediyurappa said, he would also be sending a letter of invitation to outgoing chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy and Congress Legislature Party leader Siddaramaiah.

"I will also try to contact Kumaraswamy and Siddaramaiah over phone, to invite them personally," he added.

Yediyurappa's claim for government formation comes a day after the Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar disqualified three rebel Congress MLAs while keeping his decision pending on the remaining 14 lawmakers.
You Might also Like