Saturday, Sep 19th 2020
Trending News

Maharashtra Govt Formation: Uddhav Thackeray Invites PM Modi

By FnF Correspondent | PUBLISHED: 28, Nov 2019, 12:20 pm IST | UPDATED: 05, Dec 2019, 19:16 pm IST

Maharashtra Govt Formation: Uddhav Thackeray Invites PM Modi Mumbai: Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray will be sworn-in as the chief minister of Maharashtra on Thursday after the three parties' alliance Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi declared him their leader. Maharashtra will have a Shiv Sena chief minister after 20 years but for the first a Thackeray family member will be sworn-in as the chief minister.

ANI reported that Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray talked to PM Narendra Modi over phone and invited him to his oath taking ceremony. This was in addition to an invitation letter which was sent to PM Modi.

Preparations are underway at Shivaji Park for the swearing-in ceremony of Thackeray. Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel and BJP’s Devendra Fadnavis are likely to attend Uddhav's swearing-in ceremony.

Shiv Sena leader Aaditya Thackeray on Wednesday met Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi and former PM Dr Manmohan Singh to invite them for the ceremony.

“We met Sonia Gandhi ji & Dr Manmohan Singh ji as their guidance and blessings are necessary. Now we are returning to Mumbai”, Aaditya Thaackeray told reporters after leaving from the residence of former PM Dr Manmohan Singh in Delhi.

Picture of Bal Thackeray and Indira Gandhi seen on a poster near Sena Bhavan. Poster states, "Balasheb Thackeray's dream fulfilled, Chief Minister from Shiv Sena".

According to the power-sharing agreement between the three parties, the Sena and the NCP will have 15 ministers each and the Congress 12 in the ministry apart from the Speaker's post.

In the October 21 assembly elections, the BJP had won 105 seats in the 288-member house, while the Shiv Sena bagged 56 seats. The Congress and the NCP had won 44 and 54 seats, respectively.

Former Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan is emerging as the front-runner for the post of the Maharashtra Speaker's position after the NCP conceded the position to the Congress. The Maha Vikas Aghadi late on Wednesday decided that the coveted post of Speaker of the Maharashtra Assembly will go to the Congress and Deputy Chief Minister's post will be held by the Nationalist Congress Party.
You Might also Like