Wednesday, Feb 01st 2023
Trending News

19 Opposition Rajya Sabha MPs suspended, 7 from TMC

By FnF Correspondent | PUBLISHED: 26, Jul 2022, 16:58 pm IST | UPDATED: 26, Jul 2022, 16:58 pm IST

19 Opposition Rajya Sabha MPs suspended, 7 from TMC

New Delhi: Rajya Sabha MPs Suspension: As many as 19 MPs  - all from the Opposition - have been suspended from Rajya Sabha for the rest of the week. The MPs were suspended over the charges of misconduct in the Parliament. The suspended MPs included 7 from West Bengal's ruling TMC. This comes a day after Opposition Congress' 4 MPs were suspended in Lok Sabha yesterday. All the Opposition MPs have been suspended under Rule Number 256 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business - "The Chairman may, if he deems it necessary, suspend a member from the service of the Council for a period not exceeding the remainder of the Session"

The suspended MPs are:-

Hamamed Abdulla, DMK
B Lingaiah Yadav, TRS
AA Rahim, CPI (M)
Ravihandra Vaddiraju, TRS
S Kalyanasundaram, DMK
R Girranjan, DMK
NR Elango, DMK
V Sivadasan, CPI (M)
M Shanmugam, DMK
Damodar Rao Divakonda, TRS
Sandosh Kumar P. , CPI
Dr. Kanimozhi NVN Somu, DMK

Sushmita Dev, AITC

Mausam Noot, AITC
Shanta Chhetri, AITC
Dola Sen, AITC
Santanu Sen, AlTC
Abhi Ranjan Biswar, AITC
Nadimul Haque, AITC

What actually happened?

Soon after the house met at 12 noon after the first adjournment in the morning session, Deputy Chairman Harivansh urged the protesting members from opposition parties such as Congress, TMC, DMK and AAP to return to their seats and allow the Question Hour to proceed. As the members continued with their protest, he adjourned the house briefly for about 15 minutes till 12.20 PM. Members of the AAP and the TMC had entered the Well and created an uproar, holding placards and raising slogans against the government.