Thursday, Oct 17th 2019
Trending News

BCCI Announces India Squad For Windies Tour, MS Dhoni Rested?

By FnF Correspondent | PUBLISHED: 21, Jul 2019, 18:38 pm IST | UPDATED: 21, Jul 2019, 18:38 pm IST

BCCI Announces India Squad For Windies Tour, MS Dhoni Rested? Delhi: India will be without the services of their experienced campaigner Mahendra Singh Dhoni for the upcoming full tour of the West Indies, starting from August 3.
Virat Kohli is slated to lead the Indian team against the Windies in all three forms over the course of a month-long tour.

Rohit Sharma has been brought back in the Test squad while Jasprit Bumrah has been rested from the limited-overs series along with all-rounder Hardik Pandya.

With Bumrah rested from the ODIs and T20s, uncapped seamer Navdeep Saini has been given the call up by the selectors to prove his pedigree in the shorter format.

For the one day leg of the tour, India have included a single wicket-keeping option in Rishabh Pant, while in the longer format Wriddihman Saha has been brought back following his full recovery since suffering an injury during the tour of South Africa in 2018.

Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer, who came out with decent performances with the willow for India A have found their names in the ODI and T20 squads. Both made a strong statement with the bat in the final game in North Sound, just days before the selection.

Meanwhile, Kedar Jadhav has been retained by the selectors despite his poor form in World Cup 2019.

"We have taken India A performances into consideration. In the longer format, KS Bharat was very, very close to get selected. We have an unwritten norm when a senior cricketer is injured, he should get a comeback opportunity. That's what we have given to Saha," chief selector MSK Prasad said.

ODI Squad:Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini

T20I Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

India’s squad for 2 Tests : V Kohli (Captain), A Rahane (VC), M Agarwal, KL Rahul, C Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, R Pant (WK) Wriddhiman Saha (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

India's tour of the West Indies will begin with a three-match T20I series starting August 3. The teams will then play three ODIs and two Test matches between August 8-30. The two Test matches will be part of the inaugural edition of the ICC World Test Championship.
Editor's Blog

After Masood, time to think larger connect between the India and China

by : Priti Prakash

Out of the three significant issues that majorly dot India China relations, NSG and BRI being the ot...

Quick Vote

Should the security forces be given free hand to deal with terrorists in J&K?