Thursday, May 23rd 2024
Trending News

National Film Awards 2018: Late Sridevi wins Best Actress Award for Mom, Vinod Khanna bags Dada Saheb Phalke posthumously, The full list of winners

By FnF Correspondent | PUBLISHED: 13, Apr 2018, 13:10 pm IST | UPDATED: 15, Apr 2018, 10:16 am IST

National Film Awards 2018: Late Sridevi wins Best Actress Award for Mom, Vinod Khanna bags Dada Saheb Phalke posthumously, The full list of winners New Delhi: The prestigious 65th National Film Awards are being announced today by Jury Head Shekhar Kapur. The jury of the coveted awards is headed by noted filmmaker Shekhar Kapur.

The 65th National Film Awards 2017 were announced today by the Chairpersons of the juries on Feature Films, Best Writing on Cinema and members of Dadasaheb Phalke Award and Non-Feature films. The Feature Film Central panel was headed by Shekhar Kapur, an eminent filmmaker known for his works in Hindi cinema and international cinema.

The Non- Feature Film panel was headed by Nakul Kamte and the Best Cinema on Writing jury by Anant Vijay.

The National Film Awards would be presented by Hon’ble President of India on May 3rd, 2018. The Jury Chairpersons of the 65th  National Film Awards had submitted its report to the Minister of Information & Broadcasting, Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani on 12.04.2018.

Veteran Hindi film actor Shri Vinod Khanna was awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for his contribution to Indian Cinema. Some of the other prominent winners in various categories for this year National Film Awards included Assamese movie ‘Village Rockstars’ in Best Feature Film category and ‘Baahubali - The Conclusion’ in the Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment category. Indira Gandhi Award For Best Debut Film Of A Director was given to the Jasari language movie ‘Sinjar’ directed by Pampally.

Marathi Movie ‘Dhappa’ was awarded the Nargis Dutt Award For Best Feature Film On National Integration.  Jayaraj was awarded the Best Direction in the Feature Film category for the movie ‘Bhayanakam’ and Nagraj Manjule won the award for the Best Direction in the Non Feature Film Category. Riddhi Sen and Sridevi got the award for the Best Actor (movie- Nagarkirtan) and Best Actress award (movie- Mom) respectively .

Malayalam Movie ‘Aaalorukkam’, directed by V.C.Abhilash was awarded the Best Film on Social Issues. ‘Water Baby’ directed by Pia Shah, won the Best Debut Film of a Director in the Non Feature Film category.

Movies in the languages other than those specified in the VIII Schedule of the constitution in the feature Film categories were also awarded. The award for the Best Jasari Film was given to ‘Sinjar’, Best Tulu Film to ‘Paddayi’ and the Best Ladakhi Film to ‘Walking With The Wind’.

Best Film Critic award was given to Giridhar Jha for his writings covering vast horizon of Hindi cinema with authenticity and originality. Special Mention Award was given to the Sunil Mishra for his  articles on cinema. Best Book on Cinema award was given to ‘Matmagi Manipur-The first Manipuri Feature Film’ authored by Bobby Wahengbam.

Special Jury Award in the Feature category was given to the movie ‘Nagarkirtan’ directed by Kaushik Ganguly and produced by Sani Ghose Ray. Special Jury Award in the Non-Feature category was given to ‘A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings And Monday’, directed by Prateek Vats and produced by Films Division. The best Children’s film was given to the Marathi Movie Mhorkya, directed by Amar Bharat Deokar. A.R Rahman was awarded the Best Music Direction award for the movie ‘Kaatru Veliyidai’.

The awards will be given to the respective winners on May 3, following the schedule like every year.

Here is the list of the winners:

Best Actor (Male) - Riddhi Sen for Bengali film 'Nagarkirtan'

Best Actor (Female) - Late Sridevi for 'Mom'

Best Film - Assamese film 'Village Rockstars'

Dada Saheb Phalke Award - Late actor Vinod Khanna

Best Direction - Jayaraj for Malayalam film 'Bhayanakam'

Best Male Playback Singer - J.J. Yesudas for 'Poy Maranja Kalam'

Best Children's Film - Marathi film 'Mhorkya'

Best Child Artist - Bhanita Das for Assamese film 'Village Rockstars'

Indira Gandhi Award For Best Debut Film of a Director - Pampally for 'Sinjar'

Best Popular Film providing wholesome entertainment - 'Baahubali: The Conclusion'

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Film on National Integration - Marathi film 'Dhappa'

Best Supporting Actor (Female) - Divya Dutta for 'Irada'

Best Supporting Actor (Male) - Fahad Fazil for Malayalam film 'Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum'

Best Female Playback Singer - Shashaa Tirupati for 'Vaan'

Best Lyrics - J.M. Prahlad for 'Muthu Ratnada Pyate'

Best Cinematography - Nikhil S. Praveen for Malayalam film 'Bhayanakam'

Best Adapted Screenplay - Jayraj for Malayalam film 'Bhayanakam'

Best Original Screenplay - Sanjeev Pazhoor for Malayalam film 'Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum'

Best Audiography - Assamese film 'Village Rockstars'

Best Sound Design and Best Recordist - Ladakhi film 'Walking with the Wind'

Best Production Design - Santhosh Raman for Malayalam film 'Take Off'

Best Makeup Artist - Ram Rajjak for Bengali film 'Nagarkirtan'

Best Background Score - A.R. Rahman for 'Mom'

Best Music Direction - 'Kaatru Veliyidai'

Best Special Effects - 'Baahubali: The Conclusion'

Best Choreography - Ganesh Acharya for 'Gori Tu Latth Maar' from 'Toilet Ek Prem Katha'

Best Action Direction - Abbas Ali Moghul for 'Baahubali: The Conclusion'

Best Gujarati Film - 'DHH'

Best Tamil film - 'To-Let'

Best Assamese Film - 'Ishu'

Best Telugu Film - 'Ghazi'

Best Bengali Film - 'Mayurakshi'

Best Hindi Film - 'Newton'

Best Kannada Film - 'Hebbettu Ramakka'

Best Tulu Film - 'Paddayi'

Best Ladakhi Film - 'Walking With The Wind'

Best Malayalam Film - 'Thondimuthalum Drisakshiyum'

Best Marathi Film - 'Kaccha Limbu'

Best Oriya Film - ' Hello Aarsi'

Best Film in Jasari - 'Sinjar'

Special Mention Award - Marathi film 'Morkiya', Oriya film 'Hella Aarsi', Malayalam film 'Take Off', Actor Pankaj Tripathi for 'Newton'

Best Short Film (Fiction) - Marathi film 'Mayyat'

Best Film on Social Issues (Non-Feature Films) - 'I am Bonnie' and 'Whale Done' share the award

Best Film of Art and Culture - 'Girija: A life of music'

Best Animation Film - 'The Fish Curry' and 'Tokri: The Basket'

Best Director - Nagraj Manjule

Special Jury Award - 'A Very Old Man With Enormous Wings'

Best Educational Film - 'The Girls We Were and The Women We Are'

Best Non-Feature Film - 'Water Baby'

The official ceremony will be held on May 3, where President Ram Nath Kovind will hand-over the awards to the winners.
You Might also Like