Thursday, Apr 19th 2018
Trending News

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards for 2012 announced

By FnF Correspondent | PUBLISHED: 20, Aug 2012, 12:20 pm IST | UPDATED: 20, Aug 2012, 12:45 pm IST

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards for 2012 announced New Delhi: The Government has announced the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards for the year 2012.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by Selection Committee consisting of eminent sportspersons and sports administrators; headed by Col Rajya Vardhan Singh Rathore. Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has approved to confer awards upon the following sportspersons.

A. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award - 2012:
1. Shri Vijay Kumar, Shooting

2. Shri Yogeshwar Dutt, Wrestling

B. Arjuna Awards 2012:

Sl. No., Name, Discipline

1. Ms. Deepika Kumari, Archery

2. Ms. Laishram Bombayla Devi, Archery

3. Ms. Sudha Singh, Athletics

4. Ms. Kavita Ramdas Raut, Athletics

5. Ms. Ashwani Ponnappa, Badminton

6. Mr. Parupalli Kashyap, Badminton

7. Mr. Aditya S. Mehta, Billiards & Snooker

8. Mr. Vikas Krishan, Boxing

9. Mr. Yuvraj Singh, Cricket

10. Mr. Sardar Singh, Hockey

11. Mr. Yashpal Solanki, Judo

12. Mr. Anup Kumar, Kabaddi

13. Mr. Samir Suhag, Polo

14. Ms. Annu Raj Singh, Shooting

15. Mr. Omkar Singh, Shooting

16. Mr. Joydeep Karmakar, Shooting

17. Ms. Deepika Pallikal, Squash

18. Mr. Sandeep Sejwal, Swimming

19. Ms. Ng. Sonia Chanu, Weightlifting

20. Mr. Narsingh Yadav, Wrestling

21. Mr. Rajinder Kumar, Wrestling

22. Ms. Geeta Phogat, Wrestling

23. Mr. M. Bimoljit Singh, Wushu

24. Mrs. Deepa Mallick, Athletics – Paralympics

25. Mr. Ramkaran Singh, Athletics – Paralympics

Normally  only one award of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna  is given every year to an individual sportsperson. However, the Scheme provides that this condition can be relaxed in exceptional circumstances viz., winning of an Olympic medal. Like wise for the Arjuna Awards, normally not more than 15 awards are to be given in any calendar year.

However, the Scheme of Arjuna Awards also provides that keeping in view the performance of Indian sportspersons in the Commonwealth, Asian Games and Olympic Games during a particular year, Arjuna Awards exceeding 15 in number may be allowed with proper justification and approval of the Minister for Youth Affairs & Sports.

The Selection Committee noted that 2012 is the Olympic year and India has won 6 medals in the London Olympics, which is country’s best performance in Olympic Games, and recommended that the condition of one award in case of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and 15 awards in case of Arjuna Awards may be relaxed and the number of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award may be increased from 1 (one) to 2 (two) and Arjun Awards may be increased from 15 (fifteen) to 25 (twenty five).

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.  Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for spectacular performance in the year under consideration; Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for three consecutive years preceding the year of award.    

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardees will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh each and Arjuna Awardees will receive statuettes, citations and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each.

The awardees will receive their awards from His Excellency the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2012.