Sunday, Jul 12th 2020
Trending News

Virat Kohli first cricketer to win all 3 ICC Awards after sensational year in Tests and ODIs

By FnF Correspondent | PUBLISHED: 22, Jan 2019, 13:13 pm IST | UPDATED: 22, Jan 2019, 13:15 pm IST

Virat Kohli first cricketer to win all 3 ICC Awards after sensational year in Tests and ODIs

Delhi: India captain Virat Kohli has once again bagged all the top honours at the ICC Awards 2017-18.

Kohli has completed the hat-trick after being adjudged the ODI Cricketer of the Year, the Test Cricketer of the Year and the 2018 Cricketer of the Year after yet another stellar performance in international cricket.

The 30-year-old finished as the highest scorer in Test cricket in 2018 with 1322 runs in 13 matches at an average of 55.08 with five hundreds and as many half-centuries while also finishing on top of the ODI runs tally with 1202 runs in 14 ODIs at 133.55 with six centuries.
Kohli, who was the ODI Cricketer of the Year and Cricketer of the Year last year, was named the captain of both the Test Team and ODI Team of the Year for the second year in a row as well.

Last year Kohli had finished as the highest ODI scorer, collecting 1460 runs from 26 matches including six hundreds. He was also one of the leading scorers in Tests, accumulating 1059 runs from 10 matches including five hundreds.

Not only for the amount of runs, but Kohli was also rewarded for the way he captained Team India in both Tests and one-dayers in 2018. Kohli became the only Asian captain to win a Test match in South Africa (Johannesburg), England (Nottingham) and Australia (Adelaide & Melbourne) in the same calendar year (2018).

With India's 2-1 triumph in the Border-Gavaskar series, Kohli also became the first Indian captain to win a Test series in Australia in 71 years. India also bagged the ODI series 2-1 which was another first for the country in an ODI bilateral series Down Under.

Kohli, along with Jasprit Bumrah, were the only two cricketers to feature in the Test and ODI teams of the Year. Rishabh Pant was also named in the Test side while India vice-captain Rohit Sharma, Kohli, Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav made it to the ODI side.

Wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant was adjudged Men's Emerging Cricketer of the Year while Aaron Finch's record-breaking innings of 172 off 76 balls against Zimbabwe in Harare was adjudged as the ICC Men's T20I Performance of the Year 2018.

Editor's Blog

Delhi Riots2020: Nero Fiddled While Rome Burnt

by : Priti Prakash

Nero fiddled while Rome burnt. Exactly what happened on the 23 of February when the President of Uni...

Quick Vote

How is the economic policy of the Modi government?